Couch to 5K!

So those of you that know me know that I’m not the athletic type. I played Basketball at Uni, Tennis and Football at School and even play Badminton now (when I can) but it was/is more for social contact than anything more.

Well… things are changing.

I’ve just turned 25 (well a couple months ago) and have decided it’s time to sort things out. I have a job I love but apart from that I don’t really have much to say about me. I’m a plus size gal, have a good group of friends and a love of travelling.

Me @ Grand Canyon

Me @ Grand Canyon

My travel plans for next year are in motion but this post and the next few to come are about the fitness plans. It’s November it’s getting cold and dark outside and taking up running at this year seems a little insane.

A friend of mine has done the ‘Change for Life – Couch to 5K’ plan and it worked so I thought let’s give it a go. Chatting to a couple of friends, come January we’re going to sign up for the first 5K that we can find – hopefully a Colour Run as they look like fun!

I’m on day 2 and already regretting it. My whole body aches! The plan is 9 weeks long..

Week one of the plan: 5 minute brisk warm up walk followed by 60 secs running 90 secs walking for 20 minutes.

Seems easy enough. Day one – nearly died. Day two – died a little less.

I’m a member of a local gym and that’s where I’m running. The weather is horrible out so I’m going to do this in a gym although with awkward splits and long shifts it may take a little longer than 9 weeks.

The treadmill is set to KM and I do my brisk walk at speed 5 and then my run is at 7.

Just to use my membership a little better than just running on a treadmill I do arm weights and leg press as well which is also killing me!

So as I progress I’ll update everyone on here. Anyone want to ask questions or give me advice or anything… just leave a comment!

For anyone who wants to give it a go themselves…

http://www.nhs.uk/Livewell/c25k/Pages/get-running-with-couch-to-5k.aspx

launch_C25K_img

3 thoughts on “Couch to 5K!

  1. Congrats! The couch to 5K is a great program. It does hurt like heck at first but I promise that after a week your body will no longer feel like that. I love that you are adding in weights too. I personally love using weights, because why not enjoy some toned arms with those running legs?! Great work on starting, that is half the battle. You have got this!

Leave a Reply

