Oxford Outings

A weekend off… let’s go away…. Oxford it is!! 

After chatting to a friend I’d not seen in a while and finding out that we both had the weekend off I booked a train and a bed at YHA Oxford and headed down for the weekend. Jamie met me at the train station and we meandered down to the hostel, catching up on each others lives. After quickly checking in, dumping my kit on the bed we head up George Street and having some grub at Pizza Hut before heading back to the hostel to have a few drinks and for Jamie to work out how he can get the receptionist phone number (he failed in the task!).

YHA Oxford is one of my favorite hostels. A short walk from the train station, five minutes into the city center. Friendly staff on reception, a comfortable bar area with good price drinks and a cosy lounge area. Upstairs the rooms are en suite but there are showers and loos in the corridor. I was in a six bed room with a view of the neighbouring street but it was clean and tidy and the locker had plenty of room for my gear. The  breakfasts are great, a steal at £4.99 and there is a nice outside space for some fresh air. 

Saturday I met another friend, then another two and the three of us had lunch at the local Weatherspoons before one disappeared and the rest of us  went shopping. We were soon joined by friend #4 and were having drinks when friend #3 reappeared. Now I’ve not seen #4 for 5 years so it was great to catch up. 

My weekend was full of friends and fun. This blog post  has been pretty mundane but I wanted to write something as it’s been a while and it’s another 27 days before I go to the states – now when I’m back that will be an awesome blog! We’ve put a social media ban on the trip so it will be when I get back, so until then… stay tuned! 

Leave a Reply

